The state requires individuals to hold a current Missouri Teaching Certificate or a Missouri Substitute Certificate issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).
DESE’s explanation of state requirements
If you currently hold an unexpired Missouri Teaching Certificate proceed to Steps 3 , 4 and 5 below.
||If you need to apply for your initial Missouri Substitute Certificate, information and instructions Applicants must have a minimum 60 semester hours from an academic degree granting program on the USDOE accredited lists. Complete all steps.
Step 1: Educator Licensure System Profile (New Substitute Certificate applicants only)
Go to http://dese.mo.gov and click on “Web Applications.” Set up a user ID and password in the on-line Educator Licensure system. You will be assigned an Educator ID number. Complete your profile information. From the menu on the left side of the screen, select, complete, and submit an application for a substitute certificate. There is a $50 fee for a substitute certificate. Retain your user ID and password for future reference.
Step 2: Transcripts (New Substitute Certificate applicants only)
Applicants must mail original transcripts to DESE (write “SUB CERT” and include your educator ID on the transcripts). Mail to “DESE, Attn: Certification, PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102.”
Step 3: Background Checks (All Applicants)
Fingerprints and Background Checks Information
Any offer of substitute employment is contingent upon the satisfactory outcome of the criminal background checks. According to Missouri Statute 168.133, RSMo., and as reflected in Board Policy GBEBC, all regular and substitute employees of the Logan-Rogersville School District are required to undergo criminal background checks as follows:
A: DESE Fingerprints and Background Checks Info
An FBI/Highway Patrol fingerprint background check is required (unless you have had a prior background check that was completed less than 1 year from the date of application). This background check may take up to 10 days. Results will be posted on your profile in the Educator Licensure system. The fee for the fingerprint scan is $43.05. Payment is due when scheduling the scan appointment and is your responsibility. When visiting www.machs.mo.gov, use the Logan-Rogersville District Registration Code 0748 (Certified Educator) or 0749 (Substitute Teacher).
B: A check of the central registry of child abuse and neglect of the Children’s Division, Department of Social Services is required. Complete the Request for Child Abuse or Neglect/Criminal Record form and attach it to your application. Provide all information in the sections below the highlighted “Identifying Data” line, then sign and date. There is no fee for this background check.
C: A search of Missouri Case.net is also required. There is no form or fee for this search.
Step 4: Application (All Applicants)
Complete the Logan-Rogersville Substitute Teacher Employment Application.
Step 5: Submission (All Applicants)
Personally submit the following to the Logan-Rogersville Administration Office, 100 E. Front St., Rogersville MO
2) substitute or teacher’s certificate,
3) proof of FBI background clearance, and
4) completed Request for Child Abuse or Neglect/Criminal Record form.